Take A Beat – Dj Niffty -Take a minute with Dj Niffty

Posted: February 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

–  One on One with an SA legend.

– ”So Niffty, how’d it start?”


I first started djing in late 1999. I moved to England in 2000 where I attended a few lessons at the Technics DJ Academy in Manchester. I travelled extensively during this time and perfected my mixing skills at venues such as, “The Dry Bar” in Manchester and “Madame Jo Jo’s” in London.  This gave me a great deal of confidence and ability to read a crowd. I realized then that this was going to be my passion and a life long journey into music.  When I returned to JHB I instantly sought out work in the music industry and become a resident  DJ at C3 and mixed at the “One Love Movement” parties and other major Hip Hop events.

– ‘What you been doing since then?’

Since then I have been mastering the arts of DJing ,Scratching and Beat Juggling at the following venues. O2 dome London,KOKO, London- Fiction Bar Cape Town -London Calling  • The Baseline • Zulu Bar   • Tempos • Truth • Songwritters Club • The Arm chair Theatre • Mercury bar-Atmosphere-Red Café • Roxys,

These are just a few; I have played at loads of other venues as well. In 2002 I mixed on Yfm, where I won a battle on Bad Boy T and Lee’s Harambe show beating some of the countries best hip hop DJ’s!  I played on that show several times prior to my success, as well as AK’s the Joint numerous times.

– ”So what happened when you blew up”

I was one of the first DJ’s on the TV show The Shiz Nizz (SA”s longest running hip hop show) and have since made regular appearances.  I have also played on The O Boma TV show, Channel O DSTV and other TV appearances include Jip, Stook, GoTV, Go Zone TV.

In 2005, my close friend and brother in arms, DJ Redwood and I decided to merge, forming the successful Idol Hands Table Band which is now one of South Africa’s most well respected turntable crews which has played gigs all over the country and received a standing ovation at the Hype Magazine party in April 2006.
In 2007 the Idol Hands crew won all the dj battle’s in the African Hip Hop Indaba too.  Which qualified us to compete in the World DMC’s’s!!! We put S.A on the turntablist map! By competing in all three DMC events and let the world know S.A is also a formidable contender!

– ”So what are you doing right now after all that?”

Right now,I am the 2008,2009 and 2010 JHB DMC Champion.  I am also now the current 2010 South African DMC DJ CHAMPION and represented South Africa at the World DMC DJ Competition in London.also workin on many projects and tours galore so keep lookin out and supportin

-” What are your chances at DMC?”

I have played with some of the worlds best DJ’s like DJ Craze(3 Time DMC battle winner)DJ Woody (ITF and Vestex champion and inventor of the woodpecker scratch) Tim Westwood (world famous radio 1 hip hop DJ from London, Wordworth, Mos Deff, Mac Lethal,DJ Krush and Killa Kella. I recently last year played at a sponsored event by MTN feat Wycleff Jean (Fugees). So i think my chances are good to bring some SA flavour to the world scene.

– Thanks for taking a minute – Dj Niffty!!

Check out more at: www.facebook.com/djniffty


Leave a Reply

